A Few Food Notes

In a town that brought you “Let ’em have it” and the uber-cheesy A-1 Appliance, and Ronnie Lamarque singing Volare, the Rouse’s chef ads are remarkably effective and dignified. I mean, they get John Besh, Leah Chase, and a bunch of other greats, not some schmuck from the Kenner Applebee’s, telling you that they get their stuff at Rouse’s. I don’t know if that’s true, but it works for me.

Thanks, La Divina, for nothing. Opening 2 blocks from my house could be the end of what health or money I have left. But til then, I’m all about the blueberry-basil sorbet and the hazelnut gelato. Dayam.

July is supposed to be dead time here, but last week we tried to take my brother and sis-in-law to Jacques-Imos–the place locals either love or love to hate. At 9pm, there was a 2-hour wait. Jeez, Jack, you got something going there. Hope I get to try it again soon.

If you haven’t tried Abita satsuma yet because you think it’ll be fruity, you’re missing out. It’s no sweeter than any unfiltered with an orange in it, and it’s a very solid entry.  I’m one of the few who has not taste for their Amber, but who finds some of their recent brews–Jockamo, Preservation–to be excellent beers.  Satsuma continues that proud trend.

I don’t care if you eat meat or not, you gotta try Whole Foods’ mock chicken salad.  Damn, it’s good.  I’ve tried to replicate it at home (because $10/lb ain’t exactly priced for daily gorging), to poor effect.  I’ll keep working on it; doesn’t seem that difficult.

The guys who sell watermelon from the backs of trucks are some of the friendliest, nicest people around.  I haven’t talked to the guy who dangles shrimps at you on Claiborne & MLK, but he sure seems happy too.  More of us need to get back closer to the raw.

Leave a Reply

