Et Tu, Barack?

Dear President-Elect Obama,

I drank your koolaid long before most of my friends, and I cried when you won.

I knew all along, though, that the time would come that you would bum me out with some stupid sellout move.  I’m fine with most of your cabinet picks, even though they’re not as progressive as I’d like.  Still, you’re clearly valuing different ideas and emphasizing brains.  I knew it would be painful when my near-perfect evaluation of you would take some inevitable hits, but I was hoping it would come after you at least took office.

Rick Warren?  Come on, Barack, you didn’t have to get Jeremiah Wright or an imam, but you didn’t have to get this clown.  I know you’re trying to throw the evangelicals a bone, but that mean you have to completely sell out.

I’ll be praying for your redemption.

One Response to Et Tu, Barack?

  1. Dan Baum says:

    Hey, I want to thank you for linking my New Yorker blog about New Orleans on your site. Also, I want to let you know that my book about New Orleans will be published in February. It’s called “Nine Lives: Death and Life in New Orleans,” and it is the intertwined life stories of nine New Orleanians from 1965 to 2007. You can read about it at http://www.danbaum.com. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

