Turkey Wrapup

I’m hoping to tell anyone who cares all about Turkey.  It was a great trip.  Istanbul is even cooler than you’ve heard.  I’ve got some pix here (they start after my 3rd day there, when I got a new cheap camera after realizing mine was screwed).

Lots of contradictions there.  It’s a fairly progressive country in some ways, such as its insistence on being secular, even though about 98% of the residents are Muslim.  Interestingly, women are forbidden from wearing head coverings in universities.  It’s a strange rule that means a restriction of a freedom that many of us might see as a symbol of restriction.  Confusing.  And, it’s illegal to insult Ataturk or “Turkishness.”  That’s probably why a visit to YouTube from there gets you this message:

turkey-ban

Still, I learned a lot there, and I am eager to go back.  Tesekkur ederim, Turks!

3 Responses to Turkey Wrapup

  1. Michael Homan says:

    It’s one of my favorite countries, mostly because of the food, architecture, and people. But is is full of contradictions, with the drive to modernize especially under Ataturk (banning the Fez for example), but with the staunch conservative morality police. Also, the Ottomans used to rule the world, and now many educated Turks are embarrassed about the “lack” of progress, wanting to be equal to Europe. Hope you made it to Topkapi palace and got your ass kicked at a Turkish bath.

  2. PJ says:

    Can I wear my mandana?

  3. HammHawk says:

    Yeah, Michael, it was fascinating, and I completely agree about the contradictions. Really different from what we’re used to. We only got a quick trip to Topkapi Palace, but I must go back. I also got a bath, but I gather my guy wasn’t as ferocious as most are. It’s definitely a country I’ll return to.

    Mandanas are ALWAYS welcome, PJ.

Leave a Reply

