Musical ambivalence

I’ll try to recap my kickass weekend at JazzFest soon, but for now, I’m torn on how to feel about musicians coming back to NO.  Of course the ones who really had to leave–and regretted it–I welcome with open arms and rejoice about their return.  But for those who trashed the city as they left, what about them?

Gary sent me this snippet from an article about the silent march last fall, and it’s interesting:

New Orleans musicians are not alone in griping about lack of work. Musicians in Austin, Texas, another city with a big art and music scene, share the feeling.

“Nobody comes to see live music in Austin,” said singer and songwriter John Pointer. “I’ve got nine Austin music awards and have appeared in five national television commercials and I can’t draw a crowd in Austin.”

More prodigal sons on the way?

Leave a Reply

