Babbleblogging

Just sittin here watchin the wheels go round (KDV preview)

Really, I’m watching Oregon in deep danger against Arizona.  Don’t really care about either team, but an Oregon loss and a KU win this Sat against Iowa State would put KU at #2, which is simply surreal.  KU is a b-ball school, and I’m guilty of only passing interest in football, although I’ve been to a million games at Memorial Stadium.  I’ve been there for a few 72-3 type losses (sometimes a blurry vision from the hill looking down on the stadium), so seeing the ‘Hawks become good is a real blast.  I already have tix ready for the Sugar Bowl, but they’ll be more reliable if it’s not a game against LSU!

It’s pretty fun to watch Ryan Leaf’s little brother suck, even if he is hurt.

Tonight was the Psyc Club’s and Psi Chi’s career forum, and I was very proud of the job our students did putting it together.  Not a great turnout, but a nice presentation by everyone.

Now we know that the Never Brothers are returning to JazzFest.  I’ll skip it, not to be Mr. Negative, but because I truly resent citybashers.  I don’t sweat people who have to leave, but I have no tolerance for those who have to justify their decision by talking as though they’d be stupid to stay.  The truth is, this is a tough town, but it’s also the best town, and leavers need to leave quietly.  As a psychologist, I’m pretty sensitive to people’s need to rally others around their decision to bail, no matter how justified their own decision might be.

More later…  Just babbleblogging.

6 Responses to Babbleblogging

  1. Maitri says:

    Are you in Mishigas?

  2. hammhawk says:

    No, Spermes, but I expect a lot of Beatles refs this year! (yeah, I realize that’s a solo lyric, but I’m excited about what everyone comes up with)

  3. Maitri says:

    Oh yeah, you guys are doing covers from that infamous album.

  4. Maitri says:

    P.S. I was there when they came up with the shit-ass mother krewe theme. Sorry, it just sucks, and as another krewe captain said, it’s a subkrewe theme, not one for the overall shebang.

  5. Adrastos says:

    Uh oh, Spermes. I’m in the semi-highbrow krewe of PAN: proudly penis free; uh floatwise that is.

  6. hammhawk says:

    Yeah, I think the overall theme is a little dated. We were throwing that phrase around a year and a half ago. But I think we’ll have some fun with it. A couple years ago for Quest for Immorality we did a tribute to Southern Cliterature, and that gave us a chance to play on a bunch of titles like Ass Menagerie and As I Die Laying, so I think we’re doing something like that here, as long as we don’t do the same as someone else.

    Adrastos, I don’t even know how to build a float without a penis… (on the float, I mean)

Leave a Reply

