Saints Thoughts

First of all:  No No No NO!!!

I’m fine with taking Simmons, I guess, but I don’t see MLB as nearly as big a need as CB.  I guess they’re thinking they’ll take care of the Fred “Sieve” Thomas problem in the draft, but there’s no shame in pursuing that position now and spending real money on a good player.

People are all pissed about losing Horn, but I don’t think the organization did the wrong thing here, either professionally or morally.  We didn’t screw him over, and even though he’s been a stalwart for the team and the city, he’s not necessarily the glue that we need; at least he’s no Fred McAfee.  Y’all, if you have to say you didn’t sleep with a teammates wife, but we lose that (stellar) teammate, there’s at least something going on there.  When management cleans house the year before, including dropping some pretty high-profile players, I’m giving them the benefit of the doubt so far.

I’d rather have him than not, and I love the guy, but I gotta be frank, I see this as a guy who thinks he’s still one of the best (ahem, TO), but whose best days are behind him.  The Saints woulda been glad to keep him, but not at those tall dollars.

3 Responses to Saints Thoughts

  1. Maitri says:

    The article’s title says “Vanderjagt to meet with Saints Mike Vanderjagt.” You’re the head expert – is that like a meeting with self? 🙂

    I’m still reeling from Ahman Green signing with the Texans (yeah, whatever, go) and Joe Horn possibly coming over to us (“us” being the glorious Green Bay Packers – ask Ashley about my allegiance to the Packer nation).

  2. Adrastos says:

    I’m witcha on Horn. He’s 35 and on the decline. Btw, I finally linked to you. Sorry it took so long.

  3. ashley says:

    I sorta liked the idea of Favre to Horn. The old-man connection. Kind of a Blanda-Biletnikoff thing.

Leave a Reply

